RSS

A little influence.

10 Oct

I am who I am today because of what Jesus has done for me and my family.  I am a product of godly parents who loved me, spent time with me, disciplined me, directed me, spoke blessings over me and showed Jesus to me.  And because I have had such a strong family influence my whole life I really haven’t put a whole lot of stock into what anyone else really said.

I didn’t have that one teacher or coach who came along and dramatically altered the outcome of my life.  They didn’t change my course or direction…my family was doing a pretty good job at that all ready.  They were the driving force of who I was becoming.  No one else’s opinion really mattered whether it was good or bad.

However, there where a couple of teachers that I will never forget.  Mr. Scott, my Chemistry teacher was one of my favorite teachers in high school.  I didn’t care much for Chemistry but I really liked him and so I tried really hard in his class…actually I tried really hard at getting him to tell me the answers instead of actually doing the work.  And he would always tell me, “Do the work.”  He was a great teacher, and he didn’t cut me a whole lot of slack.  He had a funny way about him that always made me think that he knew something that no one else did.  So when my parents came home from a parent teachers conference and told me that Mr. Scott said, “Chris, can do anything he wants in life…and he will be successful.”  It stuck.  Did it alter my course in life?  No, but it was a blessing spoken over me that I will hold onto forever.

I had another teacher Ms. Mann.  Honestly I was terrified going into her class.  I had spent most of my High School avoiding her classes at all costs.  But one semester no matter how hard I tried I couldn’t get around it.  It was going to be a rough semester…or so I thought.  Turns out she was the best teacher at the school…she was tough and had high expectations.  But she cared for us and did more to prepare us for college than any other teacher.  At the end of the semester we were talking about our research papers, and the long stressful process that went into them.  I confessed that I waited until the last-minute and finished mine in about a week, when everyone was working hard all semester.  She told me, “You followed the structure and you did the work…you preformed well under pressure.  Nothing will be to hard for you…good job.”  Again…it didn’t alter my life much but it was a blessing that was spoken over me that I will hold onto forever.

So I find myself in a situation now where the roles are reversed.  I now have a tremendous amount of influence over my four kids…I will be the one guiding and directing their choices and future.  But I am also in a position where I have a limited amount of influence over other people as well.  I want to be a Mr. Scott…or a Ms. Mann.  I want to bless…I want to notice potential…I want to encourage…I want to cheer people on…I want to be a breath of fresh air.

How about you…maybe you don’t have life forming influence over too many people.  But I bet you could be a Mr. Scott or a Ms. Mann for someone today.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “A little influence.

  1. Jerry Scott

    October 11, 2011 at 1:47 am

    I’m happy that I had a little influence in your life. Thank you for the kind words. It is nice to be appreciated. Today has been a good day to be a teacher. Through the thousands of Parent-Teacher conferences I have had I can still remember telling your mom and dad that you could do anything. You didn’t prove me wrong. Congrats on your new position.

    Mr. Scott

     
    • Chris Johnson

      October 11, 2011 at 3:23 am

      Oh this is too cool…the actual Mr. Scott. What an honor to have you read and comment on my blog. Thanks again…for your words then and now.

       
  2. Peg

    October 11, 2011 at 2:16 am

    Coming from a home with Christian parents is a tremendous gift, and especially from a home where the parents are a positive, encouraging influence on their kids lives. It’s something I’ve always been envious of. But I am thankful for the home life that I had. Even though I wasn’t raised in a christian home or always under ideal circumstances, it did give me the incentive to try my best to be a positive influence over kid’s lives. I know that one positive word spoken over a child can make a lasting impact. Your are blessed Pastor Chris. Thanks for the great blog!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
