RSS

Learn to talk trash.

24 Oct

Growing up in my house we played a lot of basketball.  And becasue we played a lot of basketball subsequently there was also a lot of trash talking.  There was something pure and speacial about a good dose of trash talking…of course we stayed away from the “yo mamma” stuff…becasue well then we would have been talking about “my momma.”  But I loved telling my brother and my dad exactly how bad I was going to destroy them and then making good on my promise.

I constantly reminded Arjay that he was too short…and  my dad that he was too old and there was nothing they could do to stop my dominance in our backyard basketball games.  And to really irritate them I would always offer to spot them a few points just to make it fair.  Of course…they said no.  To this day I will still contend that they should have taken the points…you know just to be fair.

Many people think that trash talking is stupid…I completely disagree.  If fact I am going to argue that it is a spiritual discipline that all of us need to learn.  King David for instance…was a great trash talker.

You know the story, and you can picture the scene in your mind.  Little David vs. the Mighty Goliath.  Goliath thinks it’s a joke and laughs…how does David respond?  You would think that he would stay quiet so he doesn’t make the Giant even more angry than he already is.  You would think that he would do a little bit of a sneak attack…maybe walk up the him with his head low pretending to offer some sort of a truce then hit him when his guard is down.  You would think…right.

But this is what David said.  “Giant, you have fancy weapons…I have the Lord.  So today I’m gonna take you down…then I’m gonna cut off your head…then my boys are going to kill every body that is standing behind you and we are going to feed your bodies to the birds and the dogs.  For the battle is the Lord’s, and he will give you into our hand.  How you like them apples.”  (I may have taken a little bit of liberty with what he actually said, but you get the point.)

A few moments later…David delivered on his promise.  He took the giant down…then he took off his head.

I wonder if it is time for us to learn this spiritual art of “trash talking.”  Are you starring down a giant today?  Don’t cower…don’t worry…start talking trash.  Has the enemy come against you?  Start talking trash.

What Giant you are facing today, let him know what’s up.

Sickness:  Just in case you didn’t know…I serve a God that come to this world to set things right…and he bore the stripes on his back so that I could be heald.  My Jesus is bigger, stronger, and faster than any cancer…and today I will stand on the promises of the Lord.  So you can just crawl right back to that dark hole that you slithered out of.

Lonliness:  I want you to know today that I am going to slap you so hard your momma is gonna feel it.  My God said he is a friend that sticks closer than a brother.  And even if I am lonely today…the one who created all things knows my name.  He even knows how many hairs I have on my head.  So you can just hit the road Jack…

Whatever your Giant is today…talk a little trash to him.  And when your done ask him, “How do you like them apples?”  It just helps…trust me.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Learn to talk trash.

  1. Jessica Hunt

    October 24, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    Pastor Chris I love this blog. My mom just gave me some “trash talking” advice last week it was funny yet powerful at the same time. I asked her for prayer and she replied “when Satan starts trying to fill your mind with lies you’ve just gotta drop a J bomb.” “A J bomb?,” I said. She explained, “fill your mind with the name of Jesus, praise Jesus, thank Jesus then the enemy has to flee.” I laughed but applied her advice and began “talking trash to the enemy” saying out loud, “bring it Satan…you think you’re so-o-o tough but my God is bigger and badder than any lie, challenge, or fear so you better watch yourself.” Super effective!!! That little concern I had has vanished and in it’s place is God confidence. I remembered Hebrews 4:16 “Let us then fearlessly and confidently and boldly draw near to the throne of grace (the throne of God’s unmerited favor to us sinners), that we may receive mercy [for our failures] and find grace to help in good time for EVERY need [appropriate help and well-timed help, coming just when we need it].” God doesn’t want us to be wimpy but bold and fearless!!! Whoot Whoot!! In that same chapter it talks about Jesus being the high priest over our “confessions” so I am confessing my faith outloud so that God can have full reign!! “Bring it satan, you’re a loser!”

     
  2. Kay Davison

    October 24, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    Kay D.
    Lonliness is what I suffer from a lot. I had a husband for 47 years, trying to make a life without him has been a journey of its own.
    What I have learned about being alone, 1.you can get used to it, 2.you don’t have to like it, but it will grow on you. 3.Sleeping alone still is awful, maybe someday I will get used to it. Bed time was always the best part of the day.
    God is always there for me to talk to, but I find this is a one way conversation! Go figure,just knowing that he is alway there keeps me talking to him, he knows me inside and out, sometimes I wonder if that is good .:-)
    Most of the time I wonder why I am still here, I don’t feel needed by anyone. I loved being a wife and mother, when the girls grew up and got married I loved just being a wife. We only got 6 years of retiremnet and 13 months of that pretty much sucked! From the time Ray was diagonsed until he died, he was sick from the Chemo and cyberknife, and total brain radiation. Oh yes I forgot also the Gamaknife. Did I pray for God to heal him, every day and every night, Northshore prayed for him, he was on the prayer list for 13 months. Wedidn’t get the healing we wanted but he was healed eternaly. He has all the NO MORES now, No pain, No sickness, no tears, none of the things we have to suffer here before we are taken to Heaven.
    We had plans of places we wanted to go and things we wanted to do, so my advice is do not put these things off, cuz before you know it, it will be to late.

     
  3. Mindy Maynard Pongpanik

    October 25, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    Great word Chris! I miss your stories!

     
  4. Pastor Mel

    October 25, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    Great message Pastor Chris! Super application on “trash talk” that I had never considered before. Keep up the great work!!! Blessings!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
