RSS

The smallest guy in the room.

24 Jan

Last week I had the opportunity to attend Minister’s Winter Retreat.  The speaker Pastor Rod Loy was amazing…and my kids had a good time swimming in the pool.  Actually the pool was freezing cold so we had a good time swimming in the hot tub.  I don’t know if all the little old ladies trying to relax enjoyed all the splashing, but what can you do.

Another benefit, aside from a great speaker and a freezing cold pool, is the opportunity to connect with other pastors across the state.  It is so fun to hear what they are doing in their churches…and more importantly what God is doing through their churches.

But I do have to confess, there was a point during that retreat that I felt like the smallest guy in the room.  As I looked around at all of these seasoned ministers, I got this overwhelming feeling that I was all alone.  All alone in my fears…all alone in my inadequacies…all alone in the pressure I feel to lead well…all alone in the weight of financial debt.  It seemed to me that everyone I talked to had answers and I only had questions.

But the Holy Spirit has a way of whispering to you when you need it the most, because it was in that moment of self conversation that the Holy Spirit spoke to me and said, “Chris, the second you think that you have the answers is the second that you stop relying on ME.”

Today you might feel like the smallest guy in the room.  You might feel like every other parent has it together.  You might feel like every other marriage is perfect.  You might feel like every one around you is growing in their relationship with the Lord…and you are just growing stagnant.  You might feel like me, that everyone has all the answers and you just have a whole lot of questions.

I want to tell you it is ok if you are the smallest guy or girl in the room.  Why?  Because it forces you to depend on someone much BIGGER, much STRONGER, and much SMARTER than you.

For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.   2 Corinthians 12:10

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “The smallest guy in the room.

  1. Vicki

    January 24, 2012 at 11:55 pm

    Chris, I LOVE this. God is using you in such an amazing way. That was so obvious when we were there at Christmas. God has been working with us on this same subject and teaching us to trust God ALONE. Hard lesson!

     
  2. Lyle Neal

    January 25, 2012 at 12:24 am

    Chris, I can totally relate. Don’t ever forget what God revealed to you! Prov. 3:4-5 is my life verse. I’m so proud and know God is glorified by your service & heart for Him! – Lyle

     

Leave a Reply

 
