RSS

Totino’s Pizza

02 Feb

First of all don’t you love how every blog this week is about food?

Do you remember in Genesis 25 when Jacob was at home cooking some stew, and his older brother Esau came in from working the fields and he was exhausted.  He was worn out, tired, and completely famished.  In short he was “hungry.”  So he asked his brother for a bowl of lentil soup…doesn’t seem like a huge request.  But Jacob saw an opportunity and took advantage of it.  So he told his older brother, “Sell me your birthright now.”  

Esau was so hungry that he agreed to sell his birthright.  Seems crazy right?  How could he be so consumed with present circumstances that he totally disregarded future blessings?  I would never do that…would I?

Several years ago I had committed to do a seven day fast.  It was the first fast that I had ever attempted and I was determined to complete it.  I believed for future blessings, and the favor of God in my life.  I KNEW God had something incredible for me through the completion of the fast.  Day three I was walking through the kitchen and I was HUNGRY.  And their sitting on the stove was two slices of cold Totino’s Pizza.  It screamed to me, “You know you want me…though I am cold and taste like cardboard…how can you resist.”  And I am ashamed to say that just like Esau I disregarded future blessings because of my present circumstance.  That cold pizza was my lentil soup.  Honestly it tasted amazing…but what did it cost me?  I’ll never know.

I believe that God responded to my fasting.  I believe that my attempts where noticed and blessed.  I believe that it was a step in the right direction.  But I knew I fell short of all that God had in store for me.  That isn’t going to happen again!

No matter what your present circumstance, don’t ever trade it in for future blessings!

Stay Hungry!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Totino’s Pizza

  1. Kelly

    February 2, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    Ok pastor I laughed hysterically in my head when you told this story in Sunday school because I did the EXACT same thing my first fast. Evening of day three. Totinos pizza. Although I cant remember for sure if it was cold. I know I tried to resist it for a good 10 or 15 minutes after it came out of the oven. I felt like such a failure. This time I am on day 5. I know I will make it to the end. Thank you for your encouraging blogs- they have definitely helped and God is blessing me this week!

     
  2. Darla Bruna

    February 3, 2012 at 2:27 am

    It’s a good reminder to stay true to God even when we feel our weakest! Speak the scripture outloud always seems to work to fight off the enemy attacks!

     
  3. Deb Dowling

    February 4, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    Thank you Pastor for “LEADING” us closer to God and His vibrant, alive WORD! Friday, day 6 was my hardest day of the fast, every smell of food called to me. Praise God, I was able to focus on the purpose of this corporate fast. It is so far beyond each one of us individually. I can’t wait to see what God has in store for our “body”, united and heading in the same direction. ARE YOU READY FOR THE BREAKTHROUGH??? Hallelujah!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
