RSS

Old Skool…

07 Feb

I don’t know what the deal is today, but I kind of feel like we need to go a little old school.  Maybe I am just waiting for someone to yell, “Warm it up, Kris.”  To which I can respond, “I’m about too.”  Or perhaps my old school feelings would go away if I would just, “Stop…collaborate and listen.”  Again, I don’t know where all of these feelings are coming from but I do know that they are legit…in fact they are “to legit to quit.”

So I guess I have to do something about it.  We are becoming an increasingly plugged-in society and we understand the benefits and advantages of technology and the internet and social media.  The youversion Bible app has changed the game in getting the Bible in homes all across the world…but I think sometimes we need to take an ibreak, and go a little old school.  Or maybe it is just me!

So for the next thirty days I’m gonna take an old school challenge…and I would invite you to join me.  No I’m not gonna ask you to give up your cell phone or computer, so don’t worry about that.  For the next thirty days, I am going to get out a good old fashion pen and piece of paper and write out my prayers to God.  My hand is getting a cramp just thinking about it.  But at least for me I feel like it is time to put some serious thought into my prayers.  No more going through the motions…no more empty prayers…no more bored repetition.  It’s time to go old school.

How about you?  Are you willing to dig out the pen and paper?  You willing to give it a shot?  Break open the old school Prayer Journal and see where the Holy Spirit takes you…

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Old Skool…

  1. Linda Hunt

    February 7, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    I love to write. I still make all of my list by my own hand.
    This will be fun, as I love to write.

     
  2. Jessica Hunt

    February 7, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    Love this Pastor Chris! Crazy part is God got me started on my “old skool” prayer journal last week!! All I can say is…prepare to be WOWwwwed!! As I have looked back over my prayers of the last week in writing I am in complete AWE to see God in the smallest of details. The details that I usually forget I even prayed about. I think sometimes we get so focused on the big answer we’re waiting for and miss the most incredible parts. The parts that nobody cares about or notices but God. The mutterings of our hearts that we forget but only He remembers because He loves us that much. God is good is an understatement! So let’s take it back to the ol’ skool cuz He’s so cool!! lol

     
  3. Pamela Robison

    February 8, 2012 at 2:33 am

    First I feel it necessary to ask if there will be a quiz, or worse a semester test? lol

    I am always looking at old books at thrift shops and a few weeks ago I found a prayer
    journal and at the time I thought “This would be cool to write down my prayers and look
    back to see how God answers.” Last night as I was looking for something else on the
    shelf in my closet, I noticed the prayer journal sitting with the other books on the shelf,
    so I guess Jesus and Pastor Chris are telling me to get to writing in that prayer journal.

    I also thumb through old Bibles in these thrift shops and it is interesting to me to see
    if I can imagine the person who once read the pages. I have a few of these interesting
    books and in fact I am using one of them this year for Project 365. I hope that when I
    go home to my Lord that someone will pick up one of my Bibles and be encouraged &
    inspired to draw closer to God and sit down and read the Word.

     
  4. Meda Taubenheim

    February 8, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    Pastor Chris, Two days ago, I made the decision to start writing my prayers out on my computer. I want to grow in my prayer life, and it’s always been easier for me to express myself in writing than it is in speaking. I’m not going to go quite as old school as to use pen and paper, but I am going to continue to do write on the computer for as long as God wants me to. I’ve also started to save the scriptures that “jump out at me” and am categorizing them for future reference, i.e. healing, salvation, etc. It’s exciting to know that God is leading so many of us in the same direction.

     

Leave a Reply

 
