RSS

Auto Correcting God…

21 Feb

I am certainly not an English major.  Whenever I write a blog or a sermon the screen is riddled with red underlined words.  In fact everything I write screams to me that I need to learn how to spell.  Melissa is always telling me, “Chris you do know their is a difference between; they’re, there, and their don’t you?”  And I guess their (is that the write one?) is a difference but they all sound the same, so what does it matter?

So, if feels a little strange to me that this morning, I have to get my red pen out and underline an English mistake in the Bible.

God was telling Moses exactly how He wanted the night of the Passover to go down.  He told them about the lamb and the blood…warned them about the death angel that was going to pass through the entire nation and told them to be ready to hit the road because freedom was near.  He also told Moses that this was going to be a new beginning for the nation and they where to remember and celebrate this through out the generations.  In essence He was giving Moses the details about what the Passover Celebration would look like…and how he was to institute it.

Now let me point out the mistake that I found in the Bible…hopefully all of my theology doesn’t come crashing down around me.  Exodus 12:17, God tells Moses, And you shall observe the Feast of Unleavened Bread, for on this very day I brought your hosts out of the land of Egypt.

I would underline this in red and tell God that it should read, And you shall observe the Feast of Unleavened Bread, for on this very day I am going to bring your hosts out of the land of Egypt.

You see the problem is in the verb tense.  God hadn’t brought anyone out of anywhere yet.  They where still sitting in their homes.  They were still Egyptian slaves.  They where still in bondage to the Pharaoh.  So why would God use the wrong verb tense?

I have two theories.  1- God, like me, didn’t care to much for English and was drawing stick figures when He should have been paying attention in Ms. Manns class.  Or 2- the promises that God gives are already completed even if the circumstances haven’t changed yet.  That every Word of God is Full and Complete the moment that He says it.  That every single promise has a past tense completion.  That even though the hurt is still there…the bondage is still tight…and the storm is still raging, we get to hold onto every Promise of God with past tense certainty.  Because His Word is powerful and effective.  And because it is strong enough to ignore the little red auto correct line and change the verb tense.

Today you may feel like God has forgotten His promise to you.  I would say stop trying to correct His verb tense…it is already complete in Jesus.

And that is all they’re is to say about that.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Auto Correcting God…

  1. Susie Gregory

    February 22, 2012 at 12:06 am

    I like this, Chris! Spelling really bothers me, because I have to go back and read the sentence over a couple times to understand it right when words are used in the wrong tense, like all those wheres in your blog when they should have been weres. I never did think of the way God says things in the past tense meaning it is already done. Thanks for this blog!!

     
  2. Arlene Herman

    February 22, 2012 at 3:22 am

    Pastor Chris, in verse 14 it told them to remember this day forever, and each year they were to celebrate this Feast of Unleavened Bread for it would remind them that God brought them out
    of Egypt on this very day. I think God was telling them ahead of time how he wanted them to observe the Feast and even what they would be thanking Him for each year – even before it happened. He was building hope and faith in their depressed lives! We have a God that plans every detail of our lives and cares about us so much!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
