RSS

You better let me carry that…

21 Mar

Last night the kids and I were going through our regular before bed routine. We got everyone’s teeth brushed and we were making our final decent down the stairs. Now when they go down before bed they are “supposed” to take their toys and put them away. I don’t always make them… then I get in trouble but that’s a whole different story. This time I was doing what I was told and made them carry their toys down.

Phoebe just turned five and she got a little girl Lego set. It was all put together and I was carrying it down the stairs for her for what I thought where obvious reasons. If you have ever dropped a completed Lego structure than you know what I mean. As we where getting ready to go down the stairs she must have had the same concern because she said to me, “Daddy, you better let me carry that. I don’t want you dropping it.”

I know I’ve talked about this before…but it was a glaring reminder that I do this to God all the time. Here God you better let me handle the finances, I don’t want you messing anything up. Here God let me determine my future, I’m not sure you can be trusted. God, you better let me handle my relationships they are pretty complicated. Here God, let me worry about the church… after all this is 2012.

So you know what I did with Phoebe? I let her carry the Legos. And you know what God does with me? He lets me carry all my “Legos” too.

It was so funny when Phoebe said that to me and I thought, “She is so cute, someday she will grow out of that.” Maybe she won’t. I haven’t.

So my prayer today is simply this. God, take my “Legos.” You are a lot more surefooted and trustworthy than I am.  I’m gonna drop everything and make a complete mess.  You hold the “Legos” and I’ll hold your hand.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “You better let me carry that…

  1. Pamela Robison

    March 21, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    A very touching story which really made me think. Thanks!

     
  2. lynnette ferebee

    March 23, 2012 at 7:17 pm

    dude…you are amazing and always put things to where i can understand……thank you

     
  3. Don Siffring

    April 1, 2012 at 7:39 am

    What a great analogy to life with God in hand. Thanks, I needed this. Don

     

Leave a Reply

 
