RSS

A Mega Million Prayers…

03 Apr

The Mega Millions Lottery was up to $656 million dollars. That is a lot of money…I excel at stating the obvious apparently. And I wonder how many prayers God heard over the last couple of weeks about the Mega Millions Jackpot. Do you suppose people stopped asking for world peace and started asking for the Mega Millions? Maybe instead of, “keep my kids safe” it turned into, “let these be the numbers.” I am sure there were many who prayed, “God, I will never ask you for anything again as long as I live…if you just let me win this money.” No doubt there were several who tried to pull a fast one on God by saying, “Lord if you let me win this money I will give not just 10% but a full 12% to the church.” Of course I am just speculating, I don’t know what people prayed about with this money but I am pretty sure there were a Mega Million prayers that went up.

I was reading Proverbs 30 and it occurred to me that we are not the only ones who pray money prayers. I guess this has been happening for a long time.

In Proverbs 30:7-9, Agur prays a strange prayer about money.

Two things I ask of you; deny them not to me before I die: Remove far from me falsehood and lying; give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with the food that is needful for me, lest I be full and deny you and say, “Who is the Lord?” or lest I be poor and steal and profane the name of my God.

Did you catch what he said? Now, I don’t know if Agur gets it…maybe he needs some help in his prayers. Did he really ask God not to make him too wealthy? I don’t know of too many people who have ever prayed that prayer before. “God, I don’t know what you are up to but just in case you were planning on giving me the numbers to the Mega Millions jackpot… Don’t. What if I had all of that money and didn’t feel like I needed you anymore?”

“Lord bring me to a place financially where I am daily dependent on YOU!”

I wonder what would happen if we trusted in God more than we do in our bank account?  And do we dare pray this kind of a prayer?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
