RSS

Flannel Graph Jesus

04 Apr

I’ve been a part of the church for a long time.  I grew up in church.  I spent every Sunday morning in Sunday School and so when I think about Jesus I have a very clear image in my head of what Jesus looks like.  Of course Jesus has a white robe and a blue sash.  He is wearing sandals and has long thick brown hair that he apparently washes daily with shampoo and conditioner.  He has a beard and is always smiling.  I fear that I am forever cursed with a flannel graph image of Jesus that is burned into my brain.

And certainly there is nothing wrong with the flannel graph image of Jesus.  Except for the fact that often times we think that Jesus is kind of a sissy and if we got into a fight I could probably take him.  And I don’t think that we often verbalize this but one of the reasons it is so difficult for us to admit to people that we love Jesus.  Or rather invite people to our church, or our special Easter service, (hint, hint) is because we aren’t all that impressed with Jesus ourselves.  Sure the miracles are cool and all but Jesus needs to man up a little… right?

And if you are like me, you need a little help removing “flannel graph Jesus” from your brain.  So before Easter I would like to introduce you to Risen King Jesus.

John had a vision of Jesus while he was all-alone on the Island of Patmos.  And this was what he saw…  one like a son of man, clothed with a long robe and with a golden sash around his chest.  The hairs of his head were white, like white wool, like snow.  His eyes were like a flame of fire, his feet were like burnished bronze, refined in a furnace, and his voice was like the roar of many waters.  In his right hand he held seven stars, from his mouth came a sharp two-edged sword, and his face was like the sun shining in full strength.  

I don’t know about you but that doesn’t really sound to me like “flannel graph Jesus.”  It is also interesting to see how John responded.  If you remember during the Last Supper, John laid his head on Jesus’ chest…but this time when he saw the Risen King Jesus.  He fell at his feet as though dead. John was overwhelmed at the power and majesty of Jesus and he fell down flat on his face, not so much in reverent worship but in absolute terror.    

Don’t ever forget that you serve a GREAT KING…Powerful and Mighty. So feel free to tell people about him.  And don’t be afraid to invite someone to church with you this Easter, they might need an encounter with the Risen King too.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Flannel Graph Jesus

  1. stacie avina

    April 4, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    As I’m doing my homework reading a story in my book about guys vs. Men the author is comparing the two ideas and also bring women into the mix and writes “I realize that I’m making gender-based generalizations here,but my feeling is that if God did not want us to make gender-based generalizations, SHE would not have given us genders.”

    And my vision of GOD throughout growing up in the church and reading the bible I was given that God is a man and the author here says he is a SHE so do we know which gender he/she is? Everyone has their own vision of God

    Great passage pastor Chris

     

Leave a Reply

 
