RSS

What’s your Story?

16 Apr

Yesterday in our services we had the opportunity to take communion together as a church. Before the communion was passed around I gave the instructions and said that the only requirement that is placed on you to take communion is that you have a personal relationship with Jesus. After I said that there was one little girl, about 8 years old, sitting next to her Daddy and she reached over and tapped him on the leg. She told him, “Daddy, I want to have a relationship with Jesus.”

This wise and loving Father took full advantage of this divine opportunity and he led her in a prayer of repentance and salvation…and a few moments later this family got to take communion together. Praise the Lord.

After the service he came up to me and told me the good news and asked if I could pray with his little girl. I got down on my knees so I could be eye level with her and told her how proud I was of her and how excited Jesus must be. I reached out my hands and asked her if we could pray together. When she grabbed my hands she dropped to her knees too. The innocence and purity of that moment was almost too much for me. The tears began to well up inside of me.  (Embrace those tears…right!)  It took me a second to gather my composure so I could pray for her. And afterward she gave me a big smile and an even bigger hug.

Praise the Lord that Sara has been adopted into the Family of God.  It doesn’t get any better than that!

Every salvation has a story. What’s yours?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “What’s your Story?

  1. Dale Brown

    April 16, 2012 at 10:25 am

    I was led to the Lord by a couple, Lee and Sara Kimes, that invited Deb and me to their home for supper. After dinner they asked if we would join them in a devotional. Being a non-Christian I almost said no but felt I should be polite and found out that I wasn’t beyond hope, Jesus loved me enough to give me a chance. Only a few weeks later Lee would die of a heart attack. I was crushed, what kind of God would let someone who loved Him so much die. In my anger at God I refused to go to the funeral, refused to go back to church. The following week our Pastor came to our house to see me. He told me that he understood my hurt and confusion but that I should know something about Lee’s funeral. Though Lee loved the Lord so much his own, now grown, son’s had never accepted Jesus. At the funeral they both came forward and accepted Christ as their Savior. Lee’s lifelong pray was answered in his own death and I learned that day that God’s ways are much higher than ours.

     
    • Chris Johnson

      April 16, 2012 at 10:28 am

      Wow…thanks for sharing Dale. What an amazing story, not of one salvation but several. Praise the Lord.

       
  2. Dan and Deb Dowling

    April 17, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    That little 8 yr. old testimony had both Dan and I crying. Thank you so much for sharing Pastor Chris.

     
  3. Susan Sterling

    September 3, 2012 at 11:19 am

    This is long but a good one…I was raised Catholic and was raising my son Catholic. My son Tanner was dating a delightful girl named Anna, whose mom was raising her in the Assembly of God Church in Kimball. Anna told me that she informed her mom she wanted to marry Tanner someday. Her mom said “Anna, you can’t marry Tanner until he becomes a Christian”. I was really angry about the comment….poor Anna felt so bad after she told me. She shouldn’t have….she saved me.
    I started asking my friends who weren’t Catholics what was wrong with us. I got various weird responses…but it set me on a quest. I started listening to the Christian station out of Scottsbluff, and I really liked Darlene Zsech’s Shout to the Lord….one day on my way to work (I drove 30 miles to work) I was singing along in the car to this song….all of a sudden, without my even thinking about it….I said: “Lord you have my heart and my soul!” and immediately I really felt 10 pounds lighter….
    overwhelmed with relief, a lightness, sheer happiness….and I felt forgiven, finally. I knew what had happened…I had been born again….and I didn’t believe in that. I used to make fun of it. If God can do that for me…when I had no one to help me and I didn’t believe in it, He can do it for anybody.
    I ended up joining the Baptists, recently moving to Hastings and attending North Shore. Praise God!
    Sometimes it’s good to get angry…. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
