RSS

Leadership Surprises

04 Sep

I was reading through Isaiah the other day and it starts out very typical of an Old Testament Prophet.  There are lots of promises of judgements… woe… really some pretty scary stuff.  And what I realized through the first few chapters of that book was that there was a tremendous lack of leadership as well.  No one was willing to step to the fore front and say, “I will lead.”  

As a pastor I follow a lot of blogs and twitter feeds and it seems in our country today there is no lack of leadership… let me clarify… there is no lack of books and blogs and people telling everyone else what makes a good leader.  There may in fact be a lack of leadership in our society today, but I think that discussion might be for another day.  

But it occurred to me that in Isaiah 6 when Isaiah had this vision of the Lord seated on his throne.  And overhears the Trinity having a conversation in which they were looking for a leader on Earth.  “Whom shall I send, and who will go for us!”  And then Isaiah responds, “Here am I!  Send me.”  That possibly Isaiah didn’t really know what he was in for.  Perhaps he had read to many books that talked about the great joys of leadership and didn’t realize the reality of the situation that he found himself in.

If you look at the very next verse God says, “Great… now go and tell the people that I will hide myself from them so they can’t find me.”  Basically the worst message imaginable.  I’d imagine that came as a little bit of a surprise to Isaiah and his new found leadership position.

And I wonder… in whatever leadership position that you find yourself currently in, has there been some unexpected surprises?  If you knew then what you know now, would you still say, “Here am I!  Send me.”  

I would love to hear your thoughts.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Leadership Surprises

  1. Lana Langenberg

    September 4, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    If I knew what I know now, would I have stepped up to be a parent. Always the unexpected as a parent.

     
  2. Chris Johnson

    September 4, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    Every day as a parent is a new surprise and a new challenge that is for sure. That is a leadership journey full of great difficulty but tremendous reward. Wouldn’t change it for anything…

     
  3. Lisa Rae Riley Sherman

    September 5, 2012 at 9:11 am

    I was thinking the same thing. My biggest leadership roll would be as a parent. And WOW, have there been so many things I did not expect or realize would come. But my kids are 23, 16 and 15 and the unexpected could never out weigh the love I feel for them and now my 2 granddaughters. Part of the unexpected is the feelings I have for all of them. That was completed unexpected and so amazing! Thank you, Chris, for this post. Helped me to think about some things that have been difficult but I wouldn’t trade for anything.

     

Leave a Reply

 
